2009 Alain Fournier Award for the best Canadian Computer Graphics Dissertation

This year, Tiberiu Popa is the recipient of the Alain Fournier Ph.D. Thesis Award. His thesis, entitled "Capturing and Modeling of Deformable Objects", made several outstanding research contributions to computer graphics.

He completed with distinction his Honours Co-op Bachelor of Mathematics in Computer Science, his Master of Mathematics under the supervision of Professor Michael McCool, both degrees at University of Waterloo, and his Ph.D. in Computer Science at University of British Columbia under the supervision of Professor Alla Sheffer. As a graduate student, Tiberiu won the first place of the ACM Student Research Competition in 2005, and received several scholarships. He was also involved in peer review of papers for several conferences and journals. After his Ph.D., Tiberiu joined the Computer Graphics Laboratory at ETH Zurich as a postdoctoral researcher under the supervision of Professor Markus Gross.

Tiberiu's thesis demonstrates considerable work in the area of acquisition, modeling, and visualization of deformable objects. The accomplished research covers each stage, with numerous and original contributions. The Ph.D. dissertation is well organized, easy to read, while presenting precisely and clearly all the work, showing the candidate's discernment.

In addition, several high quality publications have been produced; the candidate also received great recognition from the research community with an invitation to publish his work in a special issue of a journal and a best poster award.

The "Alain Fournier Memorial Fund" was created to celebrate his life, to commemorate his accomplishments, and to honour his memory. It rewards an exceptional computer graphics Ph.D. thesis defended in a Canadian University over the previous year. The winning thesis is selected through a juried process by a selection committee consisting of accomplished researchers in computer graphics.

For more information about the "Alain Fournier Memorial Fund", and information about donation, please visit http://www.cs.ubc.ca/~fournier

Previous Award Recipients

2008 Samuel Hasinoff 2007 Abhijeet Ghosh 2006 Celine Latulipe 2005 Michael P. Neff